Chloe Myerson - Private Tutor in Central London

Chloe Myerson Private Tutor in Central London

I’m a first class graduate with over a thousand hours of tutoring under my belt. I grew up in London and was educated at the highly selective Graveney School in South West London before going on to read English Literature at Warwick University (most competitive course in the country) where I achieved the third highest degree in my year. I come from a family of writers - and high achievers! I achieved one of the top five marks in the country for my English Literature GCSE and I bring this standard of excellence to all my teaching.

After graduating I went on to work in schools, discovering a passion for education whilst working as both a teacher and SEN specialist in both Secondary and Primary schools. Since becoming a private tutor I have taught a range of subjects and ages and have even spent two years working as the Household Tutor for an American-Iranian family, teaching a boy from pre-school to KS2 (ages 4 to 7).

Early Years and Primary are my specialty but I teach a lot of subjects - everything up to GCSE and all Humanities up to and including undergraduate, as well as 7+, 11+, 13+ (Westminster, Harrow, Eton Pre-test) and US exams. I also am available for residential and Skype tuition.

Subjects I Teach

  • Early years: Pre-school prep
  • Early years: Pre-school prep
  • Educational play Primary
  • English as a Foreign Language: IELTS & TOEFL
  • Entrance exams: 7+ 11+ 13+
  • GCSE & A Level: Humanities
  • Personal Statement specialist
  • US High School Exams: SAT & ACT & ISEE
  • Undergraduate English: specialist essay writing consultancy
  • University application: English

My Education & Qualifications

  • University of Warwick, 20102013
    English Literature (BA): 1st (Distinction - Third highest degree in my year)
  • School: Graveney School
    Highly selective Grammar school, years 7 to 13 3 A Levels - A*/A*/A* (English, History, Philosophy) 12 GCSEs - Mostly A/ A* I achieved one of the top five marks in the Country in English Literature GCSE. I was also part of the Gifted & Talented programme

My Tutoring & Teaching Experience

I began teaching as a Special Educational Needs TA at the Ofsted Exceptional Westminster Academy, where I taught one to one as well as whole class lessons. I was trained there in SEN and EFL (English and a Foreign Language) and developed a passion for those specialties. I then went on to work as an SEN coordinator at Lambeth Academy, where I helped run the department. I left to pursue a career in private tutoring and educational consultancy. I have worked for the best agencies in London and have logged over a thousand hours of tutoring. I have worked in schools, delivering bespoke intensive exam prep for both Primary and Secondary students, and one to one have worked with children from ages four all the way through to adult learners. I have often been brought in as an SEN or behavioural specialist, due to my wealth of experience, to help children who were struggling with classroom learning. I have experience with the entire Primary curriculum, lower secondary, Humanities GCSE and A Level, and have offered specialist essay writing and studying tutorials for undergraduate students. I also have a large amount of entrance exam experience, both British and US tests.

My Approach to Tutoring

I strongly believe that, given the right tools, any student can achieve excellence. My experience teaching in schools has convinced me that education cannot be a one-size-fits-all business, and that children flourish in many different environments. I love tutoring because it gives me the space and time to find exactly what works for each of my students. I have a range of methods and approaches to help weaker students find not just their ability but also their love for the subject, and learning in general. Likewise, having been one myself, I know how important it is for the brightest students to be challenged and pushed in order to maintain their intellectual fire.

I love teaching because it’s constantly challenging, and because I can never get tired of talking to young people.

Fun Facts About Me

I’m a professional writer - working in TV and theatre. I’m currently developing two projects with Warner Bros. and a few others with smaller producers. My plays have been performed at The Bunker in London Bridge, Young Vic (Freshworks), and The Vaults festival in Waterloo.

I love talking about books, or about art of any kind. I also play guitar, bass and ukulele. I am passionate about health and fitness. I run three times a week and also train Capoeira, an afro-Brazilian martial art that incorporates dance, music and philosophy.

My Client Testimonials

  • Early Years/ Educational Play/ Pre-school prep/ Literacy/ Numeracy/ Science
    "“A few months before he started school, Vafa was struggling with reading and counting, and had many issues with confidence and behaviour because of this. We engaged Chloë to work with him on the basis of her strong reputation and experience. Chloë helped him hugely - he found confidence and was able to make a very strong start at school, impressing his teachers with his advanced skills. Through educational play, Chloë was able to bring out his natural talent and creativity. Unfortunately, Chloë had to work abroad for a few months. But upon her return we immediately re-engaged her services as Vafa’s permanent tutor - no other tutor was able to cope with Vafa’s exuberant energy and transform it into academic success. She continued working with him for two more years and was consistently charming and punctual. I would have no hesitation in reccomending her wholeheartedly.” Vafa is now successfully studying at the prestigious Trevor-Roberts Preparatory School in Hampstead. "

Similar Tutors to Chloe Myerson

You may also be interested to view some profiles of our tutors who are similar to Chloe Myerson. Alternatively please feel free to contact us to discuss your tutoring needs, and how Wentworth Education and Chloe Myerson can help you and your family achieve your goals.

Otherwise, you can read about our tutor selection criteria, or read about Wentworth Education's philosophy and approach in a letter to parents from Dr Katherine Wiles, our Founder. You can also see more tutor profiles on our tutors listing page, where you can filter by subject.

I am a Cambridge University graduate, with experience tutoring a broad range of subjects. Before starting a career in Management Consulting, I studied Education with English and Drama (BA Hons, 1st Class), and am passionate about understanding how my students tick, finding ways of engaging them, and helping them achieve their goals.

I started tutoring at the age of 18, in Manchester where I grew up. I helped family friends through their 11+ exams, Spanish/English/Music GCSEs (As and A*s achieved). After University, I moved to Madrid for a year, where I tutored English, while studying to achieve the Instituto Cervantes DELE C1 qualification, giving me Undergraduate Degree level Spanish. ...
I have experience teaching a range of ages, both privately part-time and in full time employment as a teacher at Hurstpierpoint College, where I worked for a year before starting my degree at Oxford University. I have a particular interest in entrance into the UK's top schools and Universities, teaching 11 plus, Common Entrance, and preparing students for Oxbridge. I am aided by a detailed understanding of UK independent schools as well as experience preparing for the American education system at ISEE and SSAT level in particular. I have delivered private tuition to children between 5 and 20 years. I find tutoring immensely rewarding and particularly enjoy the focused nature of assisting an individual with their academic goals. ...
I am a professional tutor with 3 years’ experience. I am confident teaching all subjects up to 13+ level. I have extensive experience in tutoring Maths and Sciences from Common Entrance through to A- Level and university admissions advice. I am passionate about my subjects, know the curriculum in detail and make sure lessons are interesting and productive. Each student is different, and I like to take an approach which helps to boost marks through helping with confidence and exam technique for any level or ability. ...
I'm originally from New York, and have been living in London for a bit over a year now. After graduating from Harvard University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English Literature and Creative Writing (Cum Laude), I received my Master's degree from the London Film School. I've been privately tutoring for years, as a peer tutor on Harvard's campus with the Bureau of Study Council, as well as with private agencies. I also have extensive experience as an Admissions Representative in the Harvard Admissions Office. I specialise in the American curriculum and US College Counselling, but know and work with the English curriculum as well. ...
I graduated from Oriel College, Oxford in July 2017 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in English Language and Literature. Throughout my school career I have balanced academic life with competitive tennis as a government funded, semi-professional player. This required huge drive and efficiency, for which I was rewarded with a stellar set of results at both GCSE and A-Level and a place at Oxford. Before starting my degree, I began tutoring part-time and have since helped children of a range of ages and abilities achieve similar academic excellence. I specialise in entrance to the UK's top schools, and have tutored students towards 7+, 8+, 11+ and Common Entrance to Westminster, St. Paul's and King's College to name a few. I am also interested in preparing students for Oxbridge entrance, and look to develop a student's passion for subjects beyond the syllabus not only immediately preceding their application, but in the years prior. I wish to help as many students as possible reach their desired academic goals and hugely enjoy transferring my own knowledge to my young protégées. ...
I was brought up in Central London where I attended Glendower and St Paul's Girls' School. After that, I went on to read Engineering at Trinity College, Cambridge, before working at Goldman Sachs for the past two and half years. Earlier this year I left the City in order to pursue a long standing interest in Medicine. I have always loved Maths and Science and truly believe that we need to encourage students to continue with their STEM subjects. Having had some fantastic teachers throughout my education I really understand the importance of engaging with students, and ensuring that sessions are fun and in context. Having gone through the UK private school system myself, I am very familiar with the quirks of the British education system, from picking secondary schools at 11 or 13 plus, to navigating the university application system. ...
I have been teaching since the age of eighteen when I worked as a classroom assistant at Guildford High School for six months. I then worked at the European School of Brussels while working as an au pair. While studying French and English at Oxford I continued tutoring a range of subjects during the vac. After graduating in 2016 I spent a year working on a research project in South Africa investigating highly vulnerable teens to inform public health policy. Since September 2017 I have been tutoring full-time. I am now living in Clapham, and particularly specialise in French tuition all the way from the age of 7 to undergraduate level. I also have extensive experience tutoring Maths, English and Spanish, as well as a variety of other subjects to GCSE level. In October 2018 I will be taking up a full-time position as a Business Analyst at Mckinsey & Co. ...