Federico Barbacovi - Private Tutor in London

Federico Barbacovi Private Tutor in London

I am a PhD student at University College London studying Mathematics, more precisely Algebraic Geometry. Before coming to London I studied at Sapienza University of Rome, where I obtained a Master (2018) and a B.Sc. (2016) in Mathematics. During the years at University in Rome, I started tutoring. If first came to me to start tutoring after the many chances I had had of helping my colleagues at University understanding concepts with which they were struggling with. Since then, I have had many opportunities to shape my approach to tutoring, both as a private tutor, and as a teacher (when I was in Italy I taught a short course to help final year high school students to prepare for their Maths exam; between October 2018 and October 2019 I worked for a company which produces e-learning material for high schools in Italy; during Covid-19 lockdown I taught an outreach course aimed at young students).

Subjects I Teach

My Education & Qualifications

  • University College London, 2018Present
    Mathematics (PhD):
  • Sapienza University of Rome, 20162018
    Mathematics (Master): 110/110 cum Laude; Average Mark: 30/30 cum Laude.
  • Sapienza University of Rome, 20132016
    Mathematics (B.Sc.): 110/110 cum Laude
  • High School I.I.S. Giuseppe Colosanti, 20082013
    (Italian High School): 100/100 cum Laude

My Tutoring & Teaching Experience

I have been tutoring since I started to study Mathematics at University in 2013. During these years, I have had the chance to tutor students who were at different steps in their educational path. I tutored students who were at high school, as well as undergraduates.

In 2017, I have also had the chance to develop my teaching skills. In that year, I was asked by the high school from which I graduated to held a course to prepare final year high school students for their Maths exam.

During Covid-19 lockdown, I taught an outreach course aimed at young students. The course was held online in asynchronous teaching (I registered the lessons, and they were successively uploaded on YouTube). This experience helped me in shaping my skills in online teaching, with particular focus towards how to set up the environment for teaching using computers and tablets.

To top up on my other experiences, from October 2018 to October 2019 I worked for Power of Knowledge LTD. This company has an e-learning platform, PoK Scuola Digitale (PoK Digital School), aimed at high school students in Italy. My job was to produce content for the platform in the form of a script which explained the mathematical theory, and which was then converted into a video.

My Approach to Tutoring

Based on my experience in the subject, I believe that the most effective method to teach Mathematics is to help the tutee to understand it. There is no point in learning things by heart, especially in Mathematics. To achieve good results one must understand all the shapes and forms of the argument, so to be able to tackle all the problems which will be given in exams or homework.

When meeting a new tutee I first have a chat and ask them what are the things they have understood and what they haven't. Starting from this, I then proceed in either reviewing the theory if needed, or directly tackling exercises that have proved to be difficult. I also encourage my tutee to try to work by themselves between one lesson and the other, so that at the beginning of the following meeting we can thoroughly go through any doubts they got stuck in.

More precisely, during the lesson I tackle two aspects: the theory behind the Mathematics involved, and the exercises. Thorough comprehension of the theory is the basis on which I build to prepare the student to solve the exercises. To achieve it, I discuss with the tutee which of the concepts we are studying they found hard, and try to make them clearer. Once this first step is completed, I turn my attention to the exercises. When solving Maths problems, I guide them through the process of discovering the solution by themselves, occasionally pointing them in the correct direction if they run out of ideas. It is fundamental that the student develops their own way of finding a solution, as not all the exercises are equal, and the ability to solve even the hardest ones comes with practice.

Finally, and perhaps most importantly, what I would like to convey is that Mathematics is a beautiful subject, but understating it requires a certain amount of work. Nevertheless, the efforts are completely repaid by the striking excitement given by the understanding of the beautiful results Mathematics can provide.

Fun Facts About Me

Outside Mathematics, I like reading. The first books I have ever read are the ones of the Harry Potter saga. Curiously enough, I read them in reverse order (when I started, the latest published had been the fifth, so I read from the fifth to the first, and then waited for the sixth and the seventh). Since then, I have been reading a lot.

I played volleyball for 14 years, reaching good results (2nd place in Italy when I was 16, and 7th when I was 18). I now keep myself fit cycling to University, going to the gym, and training at home.

Similar Tutors to Federico Barbacovi

You may also be interested to view some profiles of our tutors who are similar to Federico Barbacovi. Alternatively please feel free to contact us to discuss your tutoring needs, and how Wentworth Education and Federico Barbacovi can help you and your family achieve your goals.

Otherwise, you can read about our tutor selection criteria, or read about Wentworth Education's philosophy and approach in a letter to parents from Dr Katherine Wiles, our Founder. You can also see more tutor profiles on our tutors listing page, where you can filter by subject.

I am a Maths graduate from Christ's College, University of Cambridge. I am an analyst in a financial firm in London. I believe in education and have a passion for teaching so I decided to be a Wentworth tutor. I went to a comprehensive school and my school couldn't give me any help for STEP, I understand students' problems at this stage, I would like to help them to prepare and pass STEP exams. ...
I am a high achieving mathematics academic based in London. I studied undergraduate maths at Kings College London; achieving a 1st. I also studied Part-III maths in Cambridge University before starting my PhD at the London School of Geometry and Number Theory.

I have tutored mathematics since 2013; to school level students (GCSE and A-Level), all the way up to undergraduate pure mathematics. ...
I am a Mathematics graduate from Cambridge University, where I specialised in Group theory, Galois theory and Graph theory. Since graduating I have been a Data Analyst and Software Engineer for a startup called MoveGB. I was soon promoted in the company and became a product manager. My next role was in the Marine Insurance industry, however I found teaching Mathematics was much more engaging and interesting for me, so I soon decided to pursue private tuition and have been tutoring ever since. ...
I grew up in Devon and went to a local Grammar School, where I first started tutoring whilst studying for my A-levels. I went on to study Mathematics at Trinity College, Cambridge, graduating in 2013 with an MA (1st-class) and MMATH (Merit). I was offered a place at Warwick University to study for my PhD, but ended up changing fields. I am now studying Medicine on an accelerated graduate entry program at Barts and the London School of Medicine, graduating in 2018.

Although I've ended my own career in Maths for now I have never lost my passion for the subject, and enjoy continuing this through tutoring. I've worked with students of all abilities, with the bulk of my experience tutoring Maths and Physics at A-level and GCSE standard. I also tutor Biology and Chemistry, drawing on the past two years I have spent studying Medicine. Studying Medicine has enhanced my tutoring ability, as we spend a considerable amount of time developing our communication skills. ...
I am a graduate student of computing science at Imperial College London. After graduating, I hope to pursue research in artificial intelligence for a PhD. I have a first-class honours from University of Bath in Mathematics. During my time at Bath I worked as a tutor for the university tutoring first year students. I have also completed the International Baccalaureate Diploma, focusing on higher level maths.

I have a deep appreciation of the logical and structured world of mathematics and enjoy passing it on. I believe mathematics to be a beautiful, interconnected subject. Thus, I am motivated by the thrill of sharing this belief and witnessing students realise how perfectly everything fits and connects in the world of mathematics. My passion for mathematics combined with knowledge gained by extensive study of the subject makes me a dedicated, caring and enthusiastic tutor. ...
I am here to help. With 10 years tutoring experience, I have helped students from all backgrounds. Whether my students have learning difficulties or they are competing with elites, the care and attention that I pour into each of my classes is the same. I help my students because I can empathise with them. I don't only can I help them with their maths, I help them with their confidence. I empathise with them. Each student has their own story, their own background and their own struggles. Using the experiences that I have gained throughout my mathematical journey (and my life journey) I inspire the best in my students. ...
I studied mathematics at Trinity College Cambridge; I graduated with a MA (1st) and a MMATH (Distinction); and was a Senior Scholar. Before Cambridge I went to school in Aiglon College, a premium boarding school in Switzerland. I grew up in England and Switzerland, but also lived in Asia and Africa as a child.

I started tutoring and helping other students learn in school and have been tutoring for around 15 years. I have mostly tutored maths and physics from 13+ and Common Entrance all the way up to University degree level. With Wentworth Tutors, I have also helped several students prepare for interviews with Strategy Consultancy firms: for internships, in the graduate milkround and for experienced hire positions. However, when I worked as a strategy consultancy, I also ran general business and technical skills training for groups and in 1-on-1 teaching. As a consultant I regularly helped train colleagues in Excel, programming, and SQL; and even wrote some of the courses.

Prior to co-founding Wentworth Tutors, I worked at OC&C Strategy Consultants, a top tier strategy consultancy, based in London. I am Wentworth Tutors’ business manager – setting the business strategy as well as managing the day to day operation and administration of the business. ...