Milly Powers - Private Tutor in Central London and North London

Milly Powers Private Tutor in Central London and North London

I was educated at Millfield School, where I received an academic scholarship. I achieved an A* in my Economics A Level, obtaining full marks in my exams in the second year. I became passionate about Economics and Politics at school and subsequently attended Newcastle University where I studied these subjects. I am from a family of teachers and tutors and have wide range of teaching experiences. I started teaching when I was selected to support low level GCSE Maths when I was studying for my A-Levels at school. It was from watching these pupils progress that my passion for teaching and tutoring was ignited. I have two years experience teaching in Italy and a further year supporting children struggling in Primary school. I am a positive and energetic person and I like to inspire and enthuse my students with positive praise.

Subjects I Teach

My Education & Qualifications

  • University of Bedfordshire, 20172018
    Advanced Relationship Based Social Work Practice with Children and Families (MsC): Distinction in Dissertation
  • University of Newcastle , 20112014
    Economics and Politics (BA (Hons)): 2:1
  • School: Millfield School
    A-Levels - Economics A*, Maths A; GCSE: 4A* 5A

My Tutoring & Teaching Experience

I have a number of years teaching experience, teaching a range of subjects. At school, I was selected to support struggling GCSE Maths students while I was studying for my A-Level Maths. I was able to motivate and inspire these pupils to obtain grade C, above their predicted grades. I have also worked in schools in a number of schools in the UK. I volunteered as a tutor during University summer vacation, tutoring English to small groups and 1:1s. These pupils had very little English hen they started for the summer and made marked progress due to targeted support for each child. At University I was selected to be a peer mentor for my course, Economics and Politics. I enjoyed mentoring and helping new students achieve their goals at University. This inspired me to completed my TEFL qualification with Trinity College London. I worked for two years as qualified TEFL teacher in Italy teacher adults and children English, including teaching English to Economics and Business lecturers at the University of Cagliari. I taught a range of ages and abilities and fine-tuned my skills in explaining concepts clearly and concisely. I have since worked in a Primary school in West London supporting children 1:1 were behind academically. I taught a range of subjects with a focus on Maths and English, getting pupils ready form KS1 and KS2 SATs. These children were regularly under-performing and I worked with them to build their confidence in subjects and develop tried and tested techniques.

My Approach to Tutoring

I have learnt from experience that using positive praise and encouragement helps children become passionate about learning new things. I like to get to know each of my pupils and get a good understanding of what motivates them. I like to do my all to make learning fun and accessible for all, ensuring difficult concepts are communicated in a simple way, using real life examples where possible. I enjoy creating resources to support pupils to improve and I have a breadth of experience teaching pupils who are struggling.

Fun Facts About Me

I am passionate about improving my skills in other areas as well as helping others to improve. I have played hockey for many years at a high standard, including a period when I played abroad in Italy, helping my club win the Italian National Championship and playing in Euro Club Champions tournament. I currently play in National League hockey for a team in North London. I have regularly coached and mentored younger players to develop their skills. I am a qualified Social Worker having completed the fast-track social work graduate scheme Frontline, working for two years in child protection social work. I developed skills in working with a range of ages and building positive relationships with the children on my caseload. I am a Grade 8 pianist and also play the violin and guitar. I sing in St Bart's Choir in London. I speak fluent Italian having lives there for 2 years and love learning about new cultures.

Similar Tutors to Milly Powers

You may also be interested to view some profiles of our tutors who are similar to Milly Powers. Alternatively please feel free to contact us to discuss your tutoring needs, and how Wentworth Education and Milly Powers can help you and your family achieve your goals.

Otherwise, you can read about our tutor selection criteria, or read about Wentworth Education's philosophy and approach in a letter to parents from Dr Katherine Wiles, our Founder. You can also see more tutor profiles on our tutors listing page, where you can filter by subject.

I am a London School of Economics (LSE) graduate, where I completed a BSc in Mathematics with Economics in 2014. Since then, I have worked in the aerospace and renewable energy sectors both in the UK and Denmark. As of September 2020, I will begin my PGCE Secondary Mathematics with QTS in North London.

I have 4 years of tutoring experience, including 1 year of online tuition. I enjoy teaching students of different age groups and ability levels as I always tailor my teaching to each student.

I attended a mixed comprehensive secondary school where I achieved 7 A* and 4 As at GCSE and went onto complete 5 A Levels, including an A* in maths which I completed in one year instead of two. ...
Enthusiastic and experienced Oxford Economics and Management graduate, with 10 years of teaching experience and varying techniques I tailor my approach to each and every student. ...
I graduated from Cambridge University in 2015 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Law. I first started tutoring when I was 17 as a peer mentor for students who required further help in preparing for their GCSEs. Since then, I have continued to tutor privately as well as working for well regarded organisations such as, the Oxford & Cambridge Summer School and Save the Children Int'l. The majority of my experience is working with children 14 years and above, however, I am equally confident teaching younger ages. I find tutoring incredibly rewarding and enjoy seeing the development and success of my tutees. ...
I spent the first 18 years of my education in the English school system before hopping over the pond to give something quite different a go. Four years at an American university (with a brief exchange at the University of Hong Kong) has turned out to be one of the best decisions I’ve ever made - so much so that I’d like to do everything I can to help others experience a liberal arts education. ...