Private Education & Tutoring During The COVID-19 Coronavirus Pandemic
No in person tutoring should occur until further notice. All tutoring should move to online video conference facilities. We are very experienced at providing remote tutoring via online portals. We have been providing tutoring during the COVID-19 outbreak to families across the globe since January 2020. Please contact us to see how we can help you and your family during this period.

William Green - Private Tutor in Clapham and London

William Green Private Tutor in Clapham and London

I graduated from Trinity College, University of Cambridge, with an MSc in Chemistry (first class) and a BA in Natural Sciences (first class, ranked 4th/102). Through studying Natural Sciences, I read Maths, Chemistry, Physics and Cell biology in my first year; Maths and Chemistry in my second year; and pure Chemistry thereafter. As an undergraduate, I worked in research groups at the University of Oxford, the University of Cambridge, and at Harvard University and co-authored papers published in the Journal of Organic Chemistry and in Nature.

Prior to my undergraduate studies, I was a recipient of the Ogden Trust Physical Sciences Scholarship for students from financial disadvantaged backgrounds at the Portsmouth Grammar School, where I attained the highest grades in my year, with 5 A*s at A-level (top 0.1% nationally). My prior education was at a local state comprehensive school.

I am currently a PhD student at Imperial College London, studying mathematical modelling of infectious diseases. Prior to starting my PhD, I worked as a Consultant at the World Health Organization in the Global Polio Eradication Initiative based in Geneva, and as a Management Consultant at Dalberg Global Development Advisors, based in Geneva and then London.

Subjects I Teach

  • Additional Mathematics (FSMQ)
  • Chemistry (A-level)
  • Mathematics (GCSE and A-level)

My Education & Qualifications

  • University of Cambridge, 20142015
    Chemistry (MSc): 1st
  • University of Cambridge, 20112014
    Natural Sciences (BA): 1st
  • Portsmouth Grammar School, 20092011
    Maths (A*), Further Maths (A*), Chemistry (A*), Physics (A*), Biology (A*) ():

My Tutoring & Teaching Experience

I have tutored informally for close to 10 years, across mathematics and the sciences. I have given talks at more than 10 comprehensive schools on applying to the Russell Group and Oxbridge Universities. I have conducted multiple practice interviews for students applying to study Natural Science or Chemistry at Oxbridge.

My Approach to Tutoring

I am a patient but ambitious tutor, and strongly believe that with sufficient practice students are capable of acheiving highly in their exams. At the outset of a new tutoring engagement, I will first focus on specific areas of difficulty the student faces in their subject, prioritizing areas which are close to being examined.

Past papers play an important part in my tutoring style, as these offer the most relevant practice and allow for easy tracking of progress and improvement. While I will likely have a couple of hours a week with each student, additional work will be set for the period between our sessions which I will mark.

Fun Facts About Me

I have travelled across South-East and East Asia and Central and South America, recently completing a 5-day hike of over 80km to Machu Picchu. I'm sociable, hard-working, and a big fan of board games, from Chess, to Settlers of Catan, to Pandemic. I am part of a competitive swimming club in London, and have been taking French classes since the start of the year.